top of page


Anne Whitney Pierce is a lifelong Cantabrigian and the author of three books: Galaxy Girls: Wonder Women (1993), Rain Line (2000), and Down to the River. While raising her three daughters, she taught writing in the graduate Writing Program at Emerson College in Boston and to younger students in the Cambridge Public Schools.  Her short fiction has appeared in the Virginia Quarterly Review, The Chattahoochee Review, The Boston Globe Magazine, Kansas Quarterly, Crosscurrents, and the Southern Review, among others. Her work has been included in the O’Henry Prize Story Collection and has won several awards, including the Nelson Algren Award, the Willa Cather Fiction Prize, the Paterson Fiction Prize, New Voices Award and a Barnes and Noble Discover Great New Writers Award.  Her latest novel, There but for Grace, will be released by Regal House Publishing in January 2025.
THERE BUT FOR GRACE  by Anne Whitney Pierce
bottom of page